Theme: What’s in a Name?

At the beginning of the meeting, we like to take time for everybody to introduce themselves.  This helps guests and members get to know each other.  Prior to the meeting, I researched the meaning of the names of members and guests that I knew would be coming to the meeting.  Throughout the meeting, I was then able to state some facts about peoples name while were voting or doing written evaluations.  Here is a sample agenda:

THEME: What’s in a name?

During introductions, tell the group a little something about your name (ie. first name, last name, nick name, etc.)

What's in a name?

Romeo & Juliet: (Juliet)
“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

Here Juliet tells Romeo that a name is an artificial and meaningless convention, and that she loves the person who is called “Montague”, not the Montague name and not the Montague family.

We all have interesting stories about our names so today I would like to start the meeting by each of us sharing something about our names.

Introductions: (Samples for during the meeting)

Yvonne – French, archer

Alan – Celtic, Harmony, stone, or noble. Also fair, handsome.

Judi – Israeli, means from Judea

Lynn – English, waterfall

Pat/Patricia – Greek, of noble descent

Alisa – Greek, rational; Spanish, of nobility

Kevin – Irish, handsome, beautiful

John – Israeli, god is gracious, merciful

Tonia – Latin American, beyond praise

Charles – German, manly, farmer

Robin – English, famous brilliance

Chad – English, battle warrior; Celtic, protector defender

Peter – Greek, a rock

Bill/William – English, protector

2 responses to “Theme: What’s in a Name?

  1. LoL and when I did a blog here I did it under the name Nomde as my last name is Plume and I want to be annony.
    Wonder what that says about me? love your blog!
    Meri

  2. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

